Jour 4 A Paris

Hey, look who I found at La Tour Eiffel!!!

I had never met Mme. Haquet in person and I figured if I was in France, I had to make sure we could get together. Saturday was our first day in Paris as a group, so she said she could take the train in and meet me. She lives about an hour from Paris by train and she waited for me (for long time) to arrive at the Tower. I went ahead of my group of students and Mme. Boyle brought them to the Tower a few hours later.

We had a nice chat, had some coffee at a cafe and then sat and had a sandwich under the Eiffel Tower! I gave her:
-all of my 7th graders’ brochures
-some Valentine’s cards that I found that seemed so American
-a book of ABCs with pictures of things from the CApe
-a great article showing a cranberry harvest
-a magnet that says Yarmouth with pictures of the beach
-a notebook with American style paper
-some magazines
-those valentine heart candies that say silly thing on them
-probably something else, but I’ve forgotten!

It was really cool to finally meet face to face. Yes, we spoke English just about the entire time. I’ve been speaking French like crazy since I’ve been here, but for some reason Mme. Haquet and I always speak and write to each other in English. Hers is so good, it continues to really impress me!

Eventually, she had to get back on her train to go home and the group and Mme. Boyle arrived at the Tower and then the fun began. But you’ll have to come back later to see what happened when we tried to go up the tower.

48 thoughts on “Jour 4 A Paris

  1. Yes, we made it! It was so nice to be able to meet ‘en chair et en os’ at last!
    We met around noon at the Eiffel Tower. Miss Watson had told me in an email that she would be wearing a brown coat. Well, it was not so easy to spot her as many people were wearing dark-coloured coats (either black, brown, or gray). Fortunately we had a sign of recognition: my Dr Martens with the Union Jack (you won’t find many people wearing them in France)!! It is thanks to them that Miss Watson found me!
    As Miss Watson wrote, we walked along the river Seine and talked a looooooot and about different subjects! It was so fascinating to see that, although we are thousands of kilometres (miles!) apart, we are facing the same problems when it comes to teaching a foreign language.
    I left Miss Watson at the Eiffel Tower around 4.30 p.m. to catch my train. It was such a nice day!

    Miss Haquet

  2. I wish that we all could venture to France, and meet our penpals. Or I wish that our penpals could venture forth into America.

  3. this is really great! it interests me how people from different worlds(cultures) are so eerily simalar! really were not different at all and when were brought together they seem no different than any other person

  4. dose the 3rd floor to the Eiffel tower go to the top or dose it only go half way between 2nd floor and the top?

  5. Wow! I’ve seen the Effiel Tower in pictures… but it most be a totally different expirence seeing it in real life!

  6. not much people, must have been fun having the bottom of the Eiffel Tower pretty much to your self!

  7. That’s so cool! I wish I could meet my old penpal in person at the Eiffel Tower, but I’ve never been to France,so it would be SUPER hard, and EXTREMELY expensive!

  8. wow! really cool. Is mme.haquet fluent in english? … and i wish i could go to the Eiffel Tower

  9. i want to go to france so bad so i can climb up to the eiffel tower and see the view. from what my aunt has said the view is amazing and i want to shop in paris and eat at the reasturant at the very top of the eiffle tower.

  10. I would love to go to France to tour Paris it seemed so much fun hopefully I will be able to travel there

  11. it mist have been so cool to finally mert her in person! after talking to her for so long and not ever really knowing her!

  12. That is really cool how she is kind of you opposite. I wish I could go to the Eiffel Tower.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *